Slow

March 27, 2010 § 2 Comments

Okay, so maybe I spoke too soon.  I will concede that reviving a blog while working two jobs, staving off student loans, and trying to finish a dissertation is an unrealistic goal.  Then again, that’s never stopped me before.

Frankly, it’s been good to be busy.  Despite my bohemian pretensions, I am not someone who fares especially well when she has too much time on her hands.  It might be different if I had a wealthy benefactor to keep me in cigarettes and cat litter, but that is a fantasy that it’s probably well past time to retire.

Certainly, the teetering pile of loan documents on my kitchen table indicates that the piper expects payment for all those years of government-sponsored flânerie, plus interest.  When I have finished my dissertation, I will write a brilliant essay about this late capitalist phenomenon; for now, I avoid my kitchen and unknown call display numbers.

Yes, I do believe that this, finally, is adulthood.  How unspeakably dull.

§ 2 Responses to Slow

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Slow at The Smoking Section.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

