To the curb

October 8, 2005 § 2 Comments

In a fit of self-assertion, I have ditched my old web counter and taken up with a new one. Honestly, I should have done it a long time ago.

I was quite fond of Nedstat, my former counter, and was reasonably content with our year-long relationship. Admittedly, it wasn’t much to look at, nor was it especially bright, but it was always there when I needed it and that was good enough for me.

Several weeks ago, Nedstat started hanging out with a new crowd. Suddenly, it had a different haircut and flashy clothes, and it was even calling itself by a new name: Webstats4U. I was troubled by these changes, but said nothing.

Meanwhile, the situation worsened. Webstats4U began to stay out late without calling; on one or two occasions, it didn’t come home at all. The rumour-mill swirled, and I wondered if I was being taken for a fool.

Then, it happened. The lying son-of-a-bitch came down with a nasty case of pop-up ads and I decided that enough was enough. It was time to move on.

I confess, I had been quietly cruising other counters, and one in particular caught my fancy. I was intrigued, but having been so badly burned, I was reluctant to commit to another counter too quickly. Clearly, I needed time.

Still, a girl can only go so long without stats, and today I took the plunge. After a few nervous preliminaries, I made a move on StatCounter, and it was everything I hoped it would be. No lies, no strings, and, if you’ll permit the indiscretion, the log size is incredible!

So, goodbye Nedstat/Webstats4U, and good riddance. I deserve far better than you.

§ 2 Responses to To the curb

  • Anonymous says:

    Ahhh- I used to have a stacounter habit- it is akin to smoking crack- micro-analizing who came to your site, from where- trying to figure out who they are… and BAM, suddenly you can’t write a thing…

    :) j

  • Vila H. says:

    Hey, I could stop anytime I wanted to, man…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To the curb at The Smoking Section.

meta

