My Blog Fantasies

December 13, 2005 § 4 Comments

In the world I envision when I really should be doing other things, Nick would be the editor of a magazine. This magazine (as opposed to This Magazine) would be so mind-bogglingly good that it would turn up its nose at both advertising revenue and government grants, and still kick Maisonneuve’s ass. In fact, this magazine would single-handedly revitalize Canada’s moribund publishing industry, thus proving that our scant population and unforgiving geography have nothing whatsoever to do with our true cultural potential.

Alas, since the world is not even remotely as I envision it, we will have to content ourselves with Sightings, the consistently excellent sidebar to Nick’s blog, The Eponym. I recommend starting with the most recent addition, The Semiotics of Smoking, which is a work of genius. Follow this by reading Nick’s post, When Two Dogs Go to War, which is also a work of genius. Then, write Nick a comment encouraging him to post more often, because once a month isn’t nearly enough.

Next in the series: Why I think D. should quit her job and become a postmodern romance novelist.

§ 4 Responses to My Blog Fantasies

  • Nick says:

    I am slain, fair Vila! Slain! You’re right that my posting frequency sucks (my newfound Crotchety Young Man style is tough to maintain), but I am nonetheless flattered that you think so highly of my blog. For what it’s worth I think The Smoking Section is Montreal’s finest, and it ain’t even close.

    Side note: it wouldn’t be too hard to kick Maisonneuve’s ass, would it? Who names a magazine after the crappiest street in the city? Hipster journalism…bah.

  • Dhttp://uberfrau.diaryland.com says:

    If postmodern romance novels are about going on dates with heart broken emo boys/coke dealers/assexual men-and thus, never getting laid or actually experiencing Romance as anything other than a theoretcial concept, that happens to other people-then I should be able to do quite well.

  • Vila H. says:

    Nick: Um. Wow. Really? Thanks…

    Actually, I hear Maisonneuve is doing a special issue on Crotchety Young Men, or, as the hipsters call it, CYM. Could be the next big thing…

  • Vila H. says:

    Way to scoop my post, D.

    BTW, which one was the coke dealer?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Blog Fantasies at The Smoking Section.

meta

