Immersion

December 28, 2005 § 3 Comments

This is how my days are.

I wake in the afternoon. I make a cup of tea and read the day’s news and horoscopes. By the time I have finished my tea, it is already dark. I do my household chores and then I take a long walk, picking up groceries as I need them. Then, I read until dawn, at which point the cycle starts again.

James came over for dinner on Christmas, and we talked all night. Otherwise, I have had no unmediated social contact since last Tuesday. Oddly enough, it’s working for me. I am burning through books at a remarkable pace, jotting down notes occasionally but only occasionally. I can’t bear the thought of slowing down–I need the momentum of the torrent, when each connection comes on the heels of the last.

It’s been a long time since I’ve felt this way.

Tonight, as I read, I caught a glimpse of what my dissertation will look like. There is a moment with ideas when the basic form comes into view, like an ultrasound image: suddenly, you can see the outlines of what the idea will become. There is a spine and veins and stubs of limbs, and with them, the suggestion of a thing.

I think I’ll call it Moe.

§ 3 Responses to Immersion

  • contrary_wise says:

    Welcome, Moe.

  • g_pi says:

    Yes, welcome to Moe, indeed.

    And a Merry Christmas to you, Ms. V (this is late, I’m afraid, but the thought was there). And a Happy New Year! Hope you see it in with style and flair. I am more than certain that you will…

    xx g_pi

  • Vila H. says:

    Quite fortunately, Moe’s conception will not interfere with any of the vices I plan to partake of tomorrow night, or on any night thereafter.

    Yes, Happy New Year, g_pi. May she be a damn sight better than the last one.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Immersion at The Smoking Section.

meta

