Return

September 7, 2006 § 2 Comments

Except for a spot of air turbulence, my flight home was thoroughly uneventful. At least, it was until the plane landed and its weary passengers began trundling toward the baggage claim area. As I stepped onto the escalator, I noticed that the man standing immediately before me was wearing a white spacesuit. With sequins. And a topknot. Distracted as I was by nicotine withdrawal, it took me a minute to realize who it was…

Rael.

For the non-Quebeckers among you, Rael is the self-proclaimed leader of the Raelians, the UFO movement-cum-sex cult that made international headlines when they claimed to have successfully impregnated a woman with a cloned embryo. The result of the experiment, a baby named Eve, has since faded into obscurity, but the group remains a potent symbol of the loopier side of my adopted province.

As I watched Rael collect his disappointingly ordinary suitcases from the baggage carousel, I became convinced that his presence on my flight was a sign. But of what? Here, I was stumped, and honestly, I still am. Nevertheless, I am quite certain that flying with Rael meant something, and, whatever it was, that it gave me the perfect ending to my trip. Fuck, I’ll take Rael over an existential crisis any day. Wouldn’t you?

§ 2 Responses to Return

  • Sparky says:

    Probably a sign that you were actually coming back from another planet…and from the sound of it, you were…

  • Caron says:

    Fascinating as the last two blogs were, I find it interesting that they didn’t solicit any commentary from your vast (smile) readership. Too personal perhaps? Speaking for myself: I thought they were quite graciously written, but didn’t feel appropriate attempting to analyze or comment on the experience you had. However, they were quite eagerly and enthusiastically taken in. I will now simply say, I am so glad you finally took that much-deserved holiday. Can you imagine what more stories you might have in your coffers were you a more frequent vacationer?!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Return at The Smoking Section.

meta

