Valentine

February 14, 2007 § 4 Comments

A day spent feeling alternately disgruntled and libidinous. In other words, punk rock energy. I should put punk rock in quotes. “Punk rock.” On second thought, fuck it. 

I watched The Filth and the Fury the other night, and was reminded of the teenage crush I had on Johnny Rotten. My friend Pam, by contrast, had a crush on Sid Vicious, which I thought was completely ridiculous. A bimbo in a leather jacket, I insisted, and he couldn’t play bass worth shit. Pam didn’t seem to mind.

No, Johnny was the punk for me. Clever. Opinionated. Relentlessly verbal. A prat, to be sure, but an interesting prat. I suppose I’ve been doomed to interesting prats men ever since.

Not long after our debate, Pam got pregnant and dropped out of school. I wanted to slap her for being so stupid; instead, I smiled weakly and wished her well. Nine months later, a little pink card arrived in the mail, and then Pam vanished into her new life.

I bet Johnny Rotten would have used a condom.

§ 4 Responses to Valentine

  • Alison Cummins says:

    Hm, I’m not sure that even interesting prats use condoms. Unless, say, they are worried that their partner is cheating on them or that their girlfriend is secretly and deliberately attempting to become pregnant.

    The big mark in favour of Johhny Rotten that I see is that he was never accused of murdering his girlfriend.

  • Vila H. says:

    Definitely a plus. Luckily, I’ve never encountered the dreaded condom resistance, which speaks well for my prats.

  • maz says:

    Johnny Rotten also knew NOT to sleep with Nancy when she offered, which is why she rolled over to her left, to Sid instead.

  • Vila H. says:

    Maz: About time you showed up! So, what d’ya think of my new digs?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Valentine at The Smoking Section.

meta

