Ten Odd Things About Me

March 6, 2007 § 16 Comments

It would appear that I have been tagged.  Frank says I have to lay out the ground rules, which are as follows:

People who get tagged must write in a blog of their own ten weird things or habits or little known facts about themselves as well as state this rule clearly.  At the end you must choose six people to be tagged and list their names. No tag backs!

And so, on with the odd…

  1. I start every day with a cup of tea.  Not coffee; tea.
  2. I have never driven a car.
  3. I once smoked a joint with Dave Grohl.
  4. I have seen a working tank up close.
  5. I have done unspeakable things with fruit.
  6. I was the only girl on my school’s chess team.
  7. I have never been to Paris.
  8. I no longer speak my first language.
  9. I am mildly demophobic.
  10. Against my better judgement, I still believe in love.

Right.  I hereby tag H., Uberfrau, Sparky, Husk, Andrea, and, just to make absolutely sure he does it, Nick.  Godspeed, my friends.

§ 16 Responses to Ten Odd Things About Me

  • husk says:

    J’ai bel et bien remarqué que mon nom est en haut parmi une liste mais je comprend pas l’anglais, j’suis désolé! :D

  • Heather says:

    What is your first language?

  • Jonathan says:

    and what does demophobic mean?

  • JonasParker says:

    What is that first language? You are the second I have met that no longer speaks it. Why don’t you speak it?

    #5 = You are cool.

    Demophobic = Afraid of people? Afraid of peoples?

  • Vila H. says:

    Husk: So it’s true what the rest of Canada thinks about the French! (Mischievous grin.) I’d attempt to provide a translation, but it’s awfully hard to type when you’re laughing your ass off. :-)

  • Vila H. says:

    Heather/Jonas: My first language is Serbo-Croatian. Apparently, I spoke it fluently until I started school, at which point my mother decided that speaking two languages would “confuse” me. From that point on, my parents only spoke to me in English, and over time I forgot most of the Serbo-Croatian I knew. It’s one of my biggest regrets, actually–that and getting screwed out of French immersion classes, but that’s another story entirely.

  • Vila H. says:

    Jonathan/Jonas: Demophobia is the correct term for a fear of crowds. (People often mistakenly use the term agoraphobia, which is something quite different and usually far more debilitating.) Mine comes and goes, but I’ve never liked being in super-crowded bars and clubs, and I positively despise shopping malls for the same reason. On the other hand, I’m perfectly comfortable on crowded streets and subways, and I can even handle big rock shows as long as I’m right up front. Go figure.

  • husk says:

    So I’m exempted from the thing now? Merci! :D
    And as for the rest of Canada, well without getting too deep into the subject — they hate us but they don’t want us to leave. That pretty much sums up the value of their opinion. ( pleasantly generalizing here — send your hate mail to: simon@descendo.com )

  • Vila H. says:

    Husk: You’re so punk rock. ;-) Actually, I think the ROC’s take on Quebec can be summed up in one sentence: (read in surly anglo accent) “What, you think you’re better than us?!” Having lived in both places, I would personally answer “yes,” but that’s neither here nor there.

    The longer I live here, the more I think that some form of sovereignty-association makes sense, at least on a political level. There’s no point in trying to explain to someone who has never spent time in Quebec why it’s different, just as there’s no point in trying to explain to someone who’s never set foot outside Chicoutimi what other parts of Canada are like. I just wish there was some way to talk about the issue that wasn’t based on nationalist thetoric, which I abhor regardless of who’s spouting it, and which dealt with the reality of class in a meaningful way.

    Anyway, about the meme: you are perfectly within your rights to decline the tag, but you understand that doing so makes you a complete pussy, right? :-P

  • husk says:

    Alright alright, since you put it that way ;) I’ll see what I can do.

  • Vila H. says:

    Works every time… ;-)

  • Vila H. says:

    Though expertly written, this list is half as long and a year old. Nice try. ;-)

  • Nick says:

    My oddities have not changed in a year! But I guess I owe you five more. Forthcoming…

  • (eponym.ca) says:

    […] memes, growing in strength and in number! For what was once five is now ten! Besides, I do whatever Vila tells me to, a month later or not. So without further ado… yet […]

  • […] been tagged, not once but twice, with a meme I could swear I’ve already done, not once but twice.  Since I am rapidly running out of odd/strange/interesting things to tell you about myself in […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ten Odd Things About Me at The Smoking Section.

meta

