First Wednesday

March 7, 2007 § 27 Comments

Okay, peeps, it’s that time of the month.  This time out, the festivities are a prelude to the Yulblog anniversary party on the 16th, which is already the talk of the town.  I have got to get out my apartment, so I’ll be there.  The question is: will you?

Jonas and André, I know you’ll be there.  Frank, what about you?  Et toi, NickTornwordo, it’s well past time that we met, and Heather, that goes double for you.  Husk, you’ve already received your invitation.  Andrea, I’ll see you there.  Bob, I don’t know why I’m asking but you should come anyway.  And do you still have other plans, Sadia?

Now, all I need is a dress that works with long johns…

§ 27 Responses to First Wednesday

  • tornwordo says:

    I may be able to stop by for an appearance…. The 16th? A Friday? That sounds like a better time for me. Getting up at 5:30 on Thursday morning is only made more difficult with previous night carousing. (And I’m old, too lol)

  • Frank says:

    I was planning to attend up until this morning. It really seems this thing on the 16th is a big deal, so I’ve decided that I’ll go to that instead.

    The seventh anniversary isn’t a big deal like the tenth, but I’m not too hot on the idea that they are tying it in with book launchings of people who only recently started coming to YULblog. Yes, I’m being a bit stodgy. I’m starting to get the feeling YULblog may be becoming more Myspace/hipster than the crowd that had been attending the previous five years. Yes, its an odd opinion since I’ve only been on ‘the scene’ for 18 months.

  • JonasParker says:

    I will see you tonight, but there’s no way I am having a conversation outside in this weather!

  • methesequel says:

    Um, I’d rather have a “long John” who works my dress! ;)

    …and yes.

    I’m curious about YULblog, but… large crowds NOT my thing, much, so motivation is low to begin with, in all honesty. :/

  • Heather says:

    I’m so sorry, but I can’t make it tonight. One of my friends is having a exhibit of her photos at this little café and I promised her I’d go.
    Next month?

  • Vila H. says:

    Torn: Ugh, 5:30 AM? That’s obscene! Stop by if you can; otherwise, I’ll see you on the 16th.

    Jonas: Wuss!

    Heather: Sounds lovely. Just promise me one good conversation before you leave for grad school.

  • Vila H. says:

    Frank, Sadia, and for that matter, everyone: Actually, I’ve been seriously considering the idea of starting a Yulblog summer splinter cell. (How’s that for alliteration?) As a smaller group, we would meet on a terrasse instead of in a bar, smoking would of course be permitted, and the goal would be conversation rather than networking.

    So, the question I will put to you is this: would you come?

  • husk says:

    That sounds much better to me, and not only as a smoker… it’s a touchy issue really — I’m mostly into (how can I say this..) deeper “soul-exploring / take no prisoner” type blogs as Vila tends to do here and now and then I’ll read certain theme-blogs as well but I don’t really see the appeal of sharring tidbits of your daily life for the whole web to read unless it’s part of a point or leading to something bigger, you know? Some pull that off in a GRAND way though, I discovered “it’s all grey to me” via this blog — and even when “H” thinks she just wrote down something trivial (a tidbit as I wrote above) it’s usually very beautifully written and wise. It manages to make me stop and think. I love those. Unfortunately, at Yulblog, I can’t really go up to people and say “um hi, yeah that post where you went shopping with your mother, wow, really moved me, thanks for the flickr photos too” you know? I’m not a Web2.0 guy either… I don’t blog to obtain clients, my clients (and most everyone around me for that matter) don’t even know I have a blog. I blog because I’m miserable and when I read back, it’s like taking notes. There’s a roller coster of emotions and it did evolve at times and the point of it being public (though also vague) is that it’s open to further exploration, suggestions and related conversations. I can’t even refer “yulblog.org” to people outside of Montreal, most of the feeds there bore me to fucking tears. But I don’t mean any disrespect, to each his own and that’s a big part of why I’ve never shown up there (same for some other bloggers I won’t mention). So the terrass idea sounds great to me (if I’m still in Montreal by then).

  • tornwordo says:

    ooh the smoker gang. I wanna come, lol. (And it’s for networking? Gack.)

  • Vila H. says:

    Husk (and all): Thank you. As I’ve said to you elsewhere, I admire your honesty, and in this case, you’ve given voice to feelings I suspect others share but have been reticent to express.

    For me, the Yulblog meetings are a means to an end, the end being an embodied connection with some of the people whose words I feel kinship with. The thing is, what I’d just as soon do is gather you all up in a café somewhere, or around a kitchen table, and talk, really talk, from those places our blogs come from on their best days. Which, I’ll confess, is the only kind of connecting I really know how to do.

    (Deep breath.) Okay. In the spirit of two comments I’ve recently written, which are as heartfelt as anything I’ve posted to this blog, I’m diving in. We will have our summer terrasse, and it won’t have anything to do with Yulblog. It’ll just be us, in the Smoking Section, so to speak, which is all it needs to be. I will organize it if you will come.

    Now, there’s just one problem: summer feels like it’s a million miles away. Husk might already be gone by then, and Heather too. Perhaps winter has made me impatient, but what if we started sooner? Or, to put it a different way, how soon is now?

  • […] said, I do like the idea of smaller groups in settings conducive to these conversations we have online. One of my frustrations is that my […]

  • Frank says:

    I’d definitely be interested in that. But finding a drinking establishment suitable for conversation can be difficult at times.

  • JonasParker says:

    Grr…At least try not to smoke directly on me, okay?

  • mare says:

    Villa, will this mean I can actually understand what you say when you’re sitting a metre away from me? Count me in then. Smoking or non smoking.
    If terasses are not yet available (yet) I can see meeting in someones home. I’m willing to volonteer mine, it’s quite large and freshly painted and I might be able to convince Alison to allow smoking inside (apart from the designated smoking room that is) for the occasion. It will be BYO beer/whine/smokes though.

  • Vila H. says:

    Frank: Well, there is the Café…

    Jonas: Dude, a terrasse is outside. Chill.

    Mare: A very kind and generous offer, but just don’t ask her on my behalf! While I may insist on my right to smoke in a bar, I would never ask to do so in someone else’s home.

    Having said this, one of the reasons I proposed a terrasse is that it would provide a form of “reasonable accommodation” to both smokers and non-smokers. That, and terrasses are lovely places to be in summer. Until then, different people could host different gatherings, in their homes or at bars or wherever they like. Why not?

  • mare says:

    Uhm, that was just a matter of speech. We have a special smoking room, with a couch. But we also have a porch in the front and the back if you prefer the great outdoors. Alison thinks it’s a cool idea, 20 people will easily fit (we have seating for about 15 or so).

    What are we going to name it: YULblog at Home?

  • Frank says:

    Extreme YULblog Makeover – Home edition.

    mare’s or the Cafe would be great. Is there a night that the Cafe is more empty? We used to meet-up on Tuesdays because the bar we met at wouldn’t be as packed.

    I may even host this summer if people are willing to traverse the river. Ours would be the pool edition.

  • Nick says:

    Ack… I’ve been out of town all week and had to miss this week’s rencontre. This “first Wednesday of the month” business isn’t aligning itself well with my various (and nefarious) schemes, alas.

  • Vila H. says:

    Wow, homeowners, with pools no less! Okay, so we have three hosts lined up, and even more locales. Mare, do you and Alison want to go first? If so, may I please reserve a seat in your smoking room? :-)

  • mare says:

    Window or aisle?

    Okay, what date? I’m having a guest over from the Netherlands the next two weeks, and I’m probably a lot out of town.

    After the 23rd almost every evening is possible. Preferences for a day?

  • Vila H. says:

    Being a grad student, I’m fairly flexible. Why don’t you pick a date that works well for you, then float it by some of the working stiffs? ;-)

  • itsallgrey says:

    Vila -consider it done. And Husk, thank you so much for what you wrote above.

  • Francois says:

    Nice to see you again Vila.

  • Vila H. says:

    Likewise. :-)

  • Patrick says:

    I doubt anyone but Vila will come back to this thread but just in case;

    Are you sure you’re not mixing yulbiz and yulblog? “would be conversation rather than networking.” networking? “I’m not a Web2.0 guy either… I don’t blog to obtain clients” and we do at yulblog?

    Look at the lists of attendees every month. If you find more than 10% who are there for networking and/or use their blogs professionally, I how you a beer.

    If anything, even though I don’t quite agree with him, Frank would be closer to the truth with his “MySpace hipsters”.

  • Patrick says:

    That would be “owe” you a beer of course.

  • Vila H. says:

    Patrick: Sorry, I meant “networking” in the looser sense of social networking, which is not too far off from what Frank wrote. No diss. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First Wednesday at The Smoking Section.

meta

