Sign

March 14, 2007 § 10 Comments

Today, I decided to walk home from school.  The weather was perfect for it, overcast but warm, and I had excellent company most of the way.   I said goodbye to Setare at the post office, promising to have drinks soon, then continued along Jeanne-Mance to the grocery store. 

About halfway up the street, I noticed two colour photocopies stapled to a telephone pole.  Slowing, I saw that they were photographs of a wide, tree-lined street overlooking a park; in one of them, three figures sat lazily on a bench, drenched in sunlight.  Underneath the photos, there was a single line of handwritten text:  

This is where we make good on life.

And in that moment, I felt my first rush of spring.

§ 10 Responses to Sign

  • Caron says:

    Mazal tov! I know how much this means to you.

  • erwin1 says:

    There is surely something in the air.. Nothing compares to spring in Montreal, I must say. Butterflies emerge from the winter cocoons and life breathes. Its fucking fantastic. Everyday lifes gets better and better just watching the world — trees, animals, people, the ants in my apartment– renew itself. Everybody is smiling and out and about- you can’t help but feel part of some weird regeneration. I smiled all day today.

  • zura says:

    Agreed. A “springitude” is definitely in the air. There is always something achingly delicious about the advent of spring. Winter flew by rather fast, it seems to me, and I am delighted to welcome the warm weather back again. Woohoo!

  • Frank says:

    Warmer weather is valued so much more up here. And people really make a special effort to enjoy it. It’s interesting that with each passing year, I’ve increasingly valued the warmer weather as well. I’m definitely looking forward to it.

  • Heather says:

    And thank gawd for it.

  • JonasParker says:

    And the winter’s undecomposed dog shit is revealed for all to marvel; yea, it is the revelation of ugly truths that spring brings: people should really make an effort in winter, and all year round to clean up after their damn dogs.

  • husk says:

    Minus a bit of rain, this is my ideal weather — kinda like London in Montreal (more or less than usual). No signs on my trail today but there weren’t any girls with british accents either, damn it.

  • mare says:

    I actually like Montreal winters and hate spring here. It’s the mud season, everything is brown for a loooong time and then in two weeks all the leaves are coming. But that’s usually end of May and March and April are dreadfull. In Europe the spring happens way more gradually and nicer IMHO.

    But of course I like (cross country and telemark) skiing and when the snow melts I can’t do that anymore. If you don’t practice winter sports Montreal winters must be awful and long. This winter was long and on average cold although we didn’t have many days of very cold weather. But no thaw periods either (well this is the first one). Next week it’s going to snow and freeze again. Yay! I hate rain, had too much of it in the Netherlands.

  • tornwordo says:

    That was marvelous! Freakishly warm out there. Enjoy!

  • Vila H. says:

    As Mare rightly notes, this is only a reprieve. Somehow, I think that was the point of the telephone pole art too. Still, it was nice to be reminded of the promise of warmth, even if it is still weeks away. Feh.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sign at The Smoking Section.

meta

