Vila’s Health Break ™

March 22, 2007 § 13 Comments

Did you ever have chicken pox when you were a kid?  If so, did you know that the chicken pox virus can lie dormant in your nervous system, waiting to be reactivated in a slightly different form later in life?   

Nope, neither did I.

Also, did you know that the virus travels along the nerve pathways to the skin, and can in rare cases produce lesions inside the eye cavity, which, incidentally, hurt like a motherfucker?

Me neither.

And, did you know that doctors get extremely nervous about the presence of said lesions anywhere near the eyes, and will immediately send you to the nearest hospital to prevent the onset of blindness?

No, but I do now.

Yesterday, I spent nine consecutive hours in three different waiting rooms, on two hours sleep and having eaten exactly one carrot muffin, to find out that my virus had reactivated from the worst ophthalmologist on earth.  Someday, I will write a blog post about him and taste the sweet nectar of revenge.

In the meantime, if you are one of the small army of people I have blown off a date with over the last week or so, please accept my apologies.  Luckily, I am allowed to drink on my prescribed medication so you’ll be hearing from me soon.

§ 13 Responses to Vila’s Health Break ™

  • zura says:

    Holy cow!! I wish you health and healing, hideous opthamologist or no, I hope you get better and swiftly.

  • heather says:

    You poor thing! So much for an inocuous eye infection. Hope you feel better…

  • Frank says:

    Hope you feel better soon. We had an odd maladie in the family recently also and it’s odd the effect it has on everyday life.

  • uberfrau says:

    some of are just lucky v. I’ve had the chicken pox twice and shingles later on in life.
    It sucks.

  • husk says:

    Damn! Didn’t know about that… hope you feel better soon, Vila! xx

  • Take care of yourself and feel better…I’ll send you the cleansing power of crashing waves (I could put a sound effect in here, but I won’t…) next time I go for a walk…

  • Vila H. says:

    Aw, thanks all. It’s really a shame they don’t have computer terminals at the Royal Vic–I could have used the good vibes.

    I hope the family illness wasn’t anything serious, Frank. Heather, it appears that we are both optimists at our core. Seriously, D., you had chicken pox twice? And Sparky, do you have any idea how much I love the sound of waves? I’d sleep like a fucking baby if I lived by the ocean…

    Now, would someone please bring me over a movie and a bottle of scotch? (Grins.)

  • Willard says:

    Vila,

    If you want to be rich
    You got to be a bitch

    I said..

    Rich?

    Bitch.

  • tornwordo says:

    I had a friend that that happened to. (And I was shocked to find out that this happens)Almost lost his eye. At least he got a month off work. I’m sending healing thoughts.

  • Vila H. says:

    Thanks, Torn. I’ve got a slew of follow-up appointments next week, so we’ll see how things go. Amazing the things our bodies get up to, isn’t it?

  • erwin1 says:

    what shocks me the most, although you didn’t mention it in your blog..is exactly how stupid the doctors were in not ever actually mentioning that this could be stressed induced rather than oh,, I don’t know cancer…
    nothing like freaking someone out by implying they could be blinded AND they may have cancer..

  • […] Smoking Section Notes from and about Montreal « Vila’s Health Break ™ Vila follows up March 25th, 2007 Tomorrow, the slew of follow-up appointments begins.  […]

  • […] « Well met Across a crowded waiting room April 4th, 2007 I am so sick of doctors I can’t even tell […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vila’s Health Break ™ at The Smoking Section.

meta

