Well met

April 2, 2007 § 2 Comments

So, Sadia.  Interesting woman, that one.  Which, incidentally, is just how I like them.

I’ve been on a bit of a blogger-meeting kick lately, and to my great delight, Ms. Me consented to join me for coffee the other day.  Five hours, one café au lait, one beer, two glasses of wine, and a plate of poutine later, we emerged from our conversational lair into a long fallen night, knowing that we had just scratched the surface of the other.

Not at all bad for a non-smoker, eh?

My only regret is that I picked the wrong Zoë story to tell her.  A story has to ripen before it is told, and that one still needed time on the vine.  In any case, if you still haven’t read hers, you should.  And then you should go tell your own.

§ 2 Responses to Well met

  • Alison Cummins says:

    My Zoë story is my ex-from-hell. In my experience there’s something about being with another woman that strips away a protective barrier, or that gives the illusion that a protective barrier is not necessary.

    Other (bi-)dykes I’ve spoken to look at me disdainfully when I say this, asserting that they always maintain a healthy distance from other women, that fusion is never a temptation, so I’m not speaking for anyone but myself here. But I’m clearly not alone if even straight women experience this nakedness.

  • Vila H. says:

    For me, the impulse toward emotional nakedness is not gendered, although it does manifest in gendered ways. I’m now thinking about why this is.

    Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I’ve always had deep friendship bonds with both women and men. I don’t guard against one more than the other, or assume an a priori commonality with women simply because we share a sex.

    This is not to say that I haven’t experienced the disappointments and betrayals that Sadia so eloquently writes about. It’s just that they’ve felt no less crushing for having been catalyzed by men. I wonder if that makes sense?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Well met at The Smoking Section.

meta

