Return

April 10, 2007 § 1 Comment

Fence

During my recent closet-cleaning frenzy, I found a CD-R of pictures that John and I took nearly ten years ago.  I was researching Montreal’s post-rock scene at the time, and I asked John to take me on a photographic tour of Mile End, intending to use the results as a visual record for my MA thesis.  Unfortunately, the project was destined to take a somewhat different turn, and the CD-R was relegated to a box of knick-knacks and eventually forgotten. 

Looking at them again, I realize that I’ve circled back to the impulse that led the pictures being taken, only now that impulse has evolved into an idea.  Then, I thought that the places in them were beautiful; now, I understand that they also have value, which is not necessarily the same thing.  In any case, I’d like to try to write about some of them in the weeks ahead.  I trust you won’t mind.

§ One Response to Return

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Return at The Smoking Section.

meta

