Vila: 1, Blank Page: 0

June 26, 2007 § 3 Comments

You may be bigger than me, blank page, and scarier, and by now accustomed to staring down my glassy-eyed and increasingly contorted frame, but despite your advantage, I possess one quality that assures my ultimate victory.

Smell that, blank page?  C’mon, take a nice, long whiff.  Do you know what that smell is?  That’s the fetid stench of desperation, my friend, which is a thousand times more powerful than your bland expanse. 

Do you understand what I’m saying?  No?  Well, then let me spell it out for you: I’ve got nothing to goddamn lose, motherfucker, so you can take your blinking, smirking cursor and shove it up your ass.  This bitch gots a dissertation to write.

§ 3 Responses to Vila: 1, Blank Page: 0

  • Caron says:

    motherfucking brilliant.

    quite an hommage to all the current and former grad students out there who know these sentiments more intimately than we’d all like.

    rock on, sister friend. you WILL conquer the blank page in this cerebral joust called dissertation.

  • Heather says:

    I think you should just hand this post in, as is.

  • sorry, should have read this one first! it sucks doesn’t it?? keep going, what often helped (still helps) my blocks is getting away from the computer and writing longhand–free form ideas, the plot of my story, what evidence i think i have…..and sometimes, reading a really smart article inspires me to write like her/him.

    and anger always helps. i love the idea of staring down your screen–

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vila: 1, Blank Page: 0 at The Smoking Section.

meta

