Who do I have to blow?

November 12, 2007 § 3 Comments

As some of you know, I am planning a research trip to New York City, which will first entail finding a cheap sublet in New York City.  Cheap, of course, is a relative term, and in a town that is known for $25,000 sundaes it is also, apparently, an elusive one.

Moreover, trying to find a cheap sublet that is also smoker-friendly is eerily like searching for the Holy Grail, except that the search is utterly devoid of faith.  In one instance, I was informed that it was not permissible to smoke even outside the building; in another, that I would only be considered if I was a non-smoker and a yoga practitioner as well.

Forgive me, but the stock market can’t crash nearly soon enough.

The last time I was in New York, I stayed in an apartment in Queens that I shared with an ironworker who had recently emigrated from Ireland.  It was the first spring after 9/11, and my temporary roommate was still working on “the pile,” where he had been stationed since the towers collapsed.  One night, he felt like story-telling and told me about the iron cross, which he and his coworkers erected as a memorial to those who were lost.  Then he stubbed out his cigarette and went to bed.

So far, I haven’t chanced upon any ironworkers on Craigslist.  Maybe tomorrow?   

§ 3 Responses to Who do I have to blow?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who do I have to blow? at The Smoking Section.

meta

