Lifting

December 14, 2007 § 3 Comments

Final draft: in.  Defense: scheduled.  Sublet: confirmed.  Flight: reserved.  Everything is speeding, but in a good way.

The last paragraph came at 4:00 AM:

I will conclude this proposal not with a statement but with an image, which more than any other research finding has confirmed my first, blind impulse to investigate noise as a cultural object.  The image, a drawing, accompanies a 1973 column in the New York Times which narrates a first-person account of the author’s encounter with a noisy teenager on a city bus.  To the right of the text, a coal-black skeleton dressed in jeans and sneakers reclines atop the page fold, a portable radio perched casually on his thigh.  From the radio, a thin line of antenna rises like smoke to the top of the page, where it merges with the word that is scratched coarsely into the page: “HATE.”  There, in a single drawing, I could feel the connection between everything I have written about here—the ideas and moments and places I am just beginning to find the scholarly language to describe.  More than this, I could sense the fear that this image represented to its intended viewers, many of whom would have happened across it while riding on an eerily similar bus.  If nothing else, I would like to find ways to understand this fear and to account for its relationship to sound and urban space, and then, to undermine it.

Finally, I’m getting someplace. Yes.

§ 3 Responses to Lifting

  • unslaked says:

    I’ve hesitated to say this (for fear it would come across the wrong way), but, fuck it – I’ll take the chance:

    For what it’s worth, I’m damn proud of you…

    :)

  • Vila H. says:

    Why, thank you! (Curtsies.) If it’s all the same to you, I’d like to keep your pride in my back pocket until after the defense, which is imminent. (Glances at unfinished notes.) More soon…

  • unslaked says:

    *smoothes out crumpled, (but oh-so warm!) pride and tucks it under arm*

    My dear, self-respect is the only thing of mine I’d never gladly give to a friend.

    Anything else, though, and you’d need only to ask.

    *smiles*

    Bonne chance w/ thesis parrying.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lifting at The Smoking Section.

meta

