Meme, Episode Three

January 31, 2008 § 6 Comments

I drank my first beer with a gang of Albanian rocker chicks who lived on my street.  There were four of them, all older than me and impossibly cool in their black-and-white Led Zeppelin rock shirts and skin-tight Road Runner jeans.  One of them, Lucy, carried a small silver switchblade which she said she used in fights, a claim I wasn’t sure I believed but was impressed by anyway.

I liked the Albanian rocker chicks and was captivated by their swaggering take on femininity, which couldn’t have been further removed from the polite Canadian version I encountered each day at school.  Years later, after I joined my first band, I would try to summon their spirit in the taut moments before walking onstage, and although I invariably failed in my attempts it gave me just enough courage to be there at all.  

I sometimes think that the problem with contemporary academic feminism is that there aren’t any Albanian rocker chicks in it.  Imagine what it would be like if there were.

§ 6 Responses to Meme, Episode Three

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meme, Episode Three at The Smoking Section.

meta

