The Longest Month

February 10, 2008 § 8 Comments

Wall

It is February in Montreal, which means that the city is cold, dark, and sheathed in a treacherous amalgam of freshly fallen snow and sheer black ice.  Because of it, I am finding it increasingly difficult to think of compelling reasons to leave my apartment, which is a pleasantly warm if somewhat dry cocoon of seasonal denial.  Beyond its walls, it might as well be the end of the world, except with take-out.

It is this frigid clime that S. will soon visit, blissfully unaware that heat death awaits.  Our reunion was originally slated for spring, which in Montreal sometimes arrives well into the month of May; instead, desire supplanted whatever reason we may once have possessed and we agreed that he should come in the barren dead of winter.  We are, plainly, fools.

As it happens, I’ve been grappling with how to write about S., who is aware of this blog and not quite comfortable with his emerging role as an “anonymous love object.”  As I’ve done once or twice before, I suggested that I could refrain from writing about him all, an offer he has until now generously declined.  Thus, I will try to feel out the contours of a new character within limits I am not yet sure I can see, but which I want nevertheless to respect.

In the meantime, I am secretly afraid that he will touch down at Trudeau, and, upon encountering the bone-chilling winds gusting across the tarmac, decide to fly instantly back to New York.  I mean, honestly, wouldn’t you?

§ 8 Responses to The Longest Month

  • I’ve always thought that February was an ideal month for visits motivated by desire. (For inspiration, check out the poetry in http://montreal.metblogs.com/archives/2005/10/last_stop_til_w.phtml.)

  • tornwordo says:

    I like the cozy nature of being stuck inside in winter, but I wouldn’t blame him if he turned right around either. This year is how you say, penible.

  • mare says:

    Even though we have the mildest winter in ages (lots of snow, but not cold at all; unfortunately a lot of grey skies as a side-effect) I can see him needing some time to adjust.

    Reminds me that I still had to give you the make-cheap-phone-calls link. It’s called Jajah (http://www.jajah.com). We used it all the time when I was still in the Netherlands and it has saved us a lot of money. It works as follows: you go to a website, select your phone number, enter the phone number of the person/company you want to call and press a button. Jajah will then call you back on your normal phone (or cell phone) and then relay you to the other person. So only one of you will need a computer, and none of you is thethered to a computer with a headset like with Skype. When both of you sign up and make a paid phonecall once in a while you can talk, you get 150 free minutes per week. Not nearly enough, I know, but it’s a start. After those 150 minutes (or when you call non-members) their rates are comparable with YAK and the likes.

    We still use it regularly when Alison is in hotels in Toronto and would have to spent fortunes with hotel phones rates.

    And no, I don’t get paid for this information.

  • Jonathan says:

    but if you both have high speed internet, why not get a USB headset and do Skype or some other talk program for free?

  • uberfrau says:

    it was so balmy that we ate our dinner outside tonight.
    sorry, just had to Gloat!

  • rebel says:

    honey, he’s not going to notice the weather… ;)

  • Vila H. says:

    Alison: I’m amazed that you remembered the original post. And kinda touched. :)

    Torn: Yes, that’s it exactly.

    Mare/Jonathan: Thanks for the tips. I’m sure I’ll get to them eventually.

    Uberfrau: I’ll remember this moment when the Big One hits. ;)

    Rebel: Let’s hope…

  • Basil says:

    There’s a reason so many people are born in the oct nov time frame- not much to do this time of year but stay warm indoors ;)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Longest Month at The Smoking Section.

meta

