In the air

June 29, 2008 § 3 Comments

It is wretchedly hot and all my windows are open. A party is winding down in the back alley, and drunk male voices jut out into the night. If my French was better, I might set out to find it; instead, I pick at the last pages of Chapter Two and silently rue the lack of beer in my fridge.

In recent weeks I have learned that two of my friends have aborted their graduate studies, and that two more are on the cusp of the same decision. I am glad for the two who have left, who will be freer for it and immeasurably happier, and who in both cases have talents that far exceed the narrow confines of academia. Still, the work I have resolved to do feels just that much lonelier than it did before.

Of course, I should mention that one of the friends is James.

The party has ended, and a sudden storm is pelting the alley with rain. For better or for worse, this is becoming the blog of a dissertation-stage graduate student. So be it.

§ 3 Responses to In the air

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In the air at The Smoking Section.

meta

