Seen

October 14, 2008 § Leave a comment

Cross

If you keep walking, you just kind of happen across the World Trade Centre site, St. Paul’s Chapel, and the cross.  A lift from an earlier post:

The last time I was in New York, I stayed in an apartment in Queens that I shared with an ironworker who had recently emigrated from Ireland.  It was the first spring after 9/11, and my temporary roommate was still working on “the pile,” where he had been stationed since the towers collapsed.  One night, he felt like story-telling and told me about the iron cross, which he and his coworkers erected as a memorial to those who were lost.  Then he stubbed out his cigarette and went to bed.

I’m glad I had a story to remember when I saw it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Seen at The Smoking Section.

meta

