New

January 5, 2009 § 8 Comments

And so, 2009 begins.  The Washington Post has declared that this is the year of slow blogging, a trend I have evidently been on the cutting edge of.  Updates?  Pfft!  That’s so 2008.

Sensibly, I have no resolutions.  I have absolutely no intention of quitting smoking, eating better, or taking up yoga, although I could stand to drink slightly more often than I do.  In fact, I won’t even promise to post more frequently, since any effort I might make to do so is clearly doomed to failure.

No, this year I have one goal and one goal only, and that is to finish my goddamned Ph.D.  Luckily, the astrological wind is at my back, as Saturn remains in Virgo for the duration of the academic year.  For the layperson:

Few astrologers would describe Saturn visiting one’s sign as a picnic. For Virgo, this development comes as a relief, mainly granted by the miracles of maturity and perspective. A long and perhaps lonely phase of inner searching has come to an end, but now that you have graduated you can see that you have an entirely new sense of who you are. You seem to have recently woken up, and what is better, awoken with words to describe your experiences. While you may feel like you’re still looking for those words, I would propose that you have most of them in your possession, and that what you are really waiting for is the confidence to speak. That, you can only give yourself.

In the meantime, I will post at best sporadically and half-heartedly about things that are of scant interest to anyone but myself, and, whenever possible, I will resort to using photos as filler.  If I’m feeling particularly inspired, I might complain about the weather, but then again, I might not.

Oh, and on the off-chance that anyone actually reads blogs anymore: happy new year!

§ 8 Responses to New

  • komtois says:

    If blogging once a month is considered slow blogging that means i’m finally trendy!

    Happy new year to you too.

  • GayProf says:

    I so didn’t know that I was onto a “hot” trend with slow blogging!

    And Happy New Year!

  • Happy New Year to you, Vila. That’s a noble and entirely worthy resolution you’ve made. Keep it! Love the hot/not thing — I think 2009 might look strikingly similar to 1929, but that’s probably just my historian’s bias…I hope…

  • Vila H. says:

    Indeed, we are all so hip it hurts. You can read more about the “trend” here.

    As for repeating history, I’m still with Mark Kingwell on this one: just like now, only worse.

  • rada says:

    …and if responding to a post 10 days after it’s been posted is considered trendy….

    perhaps we’re all a bit numbed by events at the start of 2009, or is 2009 merely a continuation of the mind/clusterfuck that developed earlier this decade.

    i see now as the perfect time to start a death metal band. that’s my ’09 aspirations anyways.

  • slow as my frozen grandpa blogger says:

    It’s like this thing about e-mail, you know. When people used to write letters to each other, everyone was happy to get a response within a week or two weeks or a month or within six months and it was okay.

    People waited and they found other shit to do in the meantime, like building arcs in case there was a flood, or hewing down forests in order to build log cabins, or running thousands of cattle across the great plains. Oh, sorry I haven’t written yet, I’ve been in the trenches, defending Alberta against invading Mexicans…that kind of thing.

    Now, though, if I don’t respond to someone’s e-mail like within a month I’m a jerk and if I respond six months later I’m a complete asshead. What the hell is the rush, anyhow, if I don’t thank you right away for that cutesy e-card you sent with a flash movie of a teddy bear hugging the cross on it or something?

  • husk says:

    guilty! bonne année!!

  • Vila H. says:

    Slow, etc.: I have come to despise email. I think this has something to do with the fact that I am writing my dissertation (see above), but they’re just another thing I have to write when I’d really much rather have an actual conversation. I’m also still too much of a letter-writer so I have a hard time with the format. Shorter than a letter but longer than a text message? Is that it?

    That said, if I had a cell phone I think I’d write great text messages.

    Husk: Merci! Good luck with your camera…

    Rada: Can I join?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New at The Smoking Section.

meta

