So it’s not just me, then?

January 29, 2009 § 4 Comments

LARRY KING: Give me a little insight into your writing process. Do you know where you’re going when you start?

MAUREEN DOWD: Never. When I did columns out of New York, when the printing press was still at the “New York Times” building, it would be terrifying, because sometimes at 8:00 at night, I would hear the delivery trucks starting and I would have a blank screen. It takes a lot of adrenaline and fear to make me actually write.

LARRY KING: When it starts, does it flow?

MAUREEN DOWD: No, I find writing — what did Mary McGrory used to quote? It is about going down into the marrow of your bones.

That’s Yeats, incidentally.  At least I’m in good company.

§ 4 Responses to So it’s not just me, then?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So it’s not just me, then? at The Smoking Section.

meta

